EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

The primary goals of VAFEPA are:

  • to support schools and division administrators in the implementation of federal education programs that effectively supplement local and state education programs to close the achievement gap between children who are advantaged and children who are economically disadvantaged, children from major racial/ethic groups, children with disabilities, children classified as limited English proficient, and other subgroups such as migratory and homeless students;

  • to provide opportunities to promote effective teaching and learning;

  • to increase student achievement through cross-program coordination and integration of services and activities; and

  • to assist division administrators in interpreting and implementing student achievement through cross-program coordination, integration of services and activities as related to the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) as amended by the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001.

President's Message

VIRGINIA ASSOCIATION OF FEDERAL EDUCATION  PROGRAM ADMINISTRATORS

Regional Map

WHAT WE BELIEVE

 

The purposes of VAFEPA are:
  • to promote and facilitate communication and collaboration among federal education administrators throughout the state;
  • to provide opportunities for federal education administrators to discuss, propose, and take action on matters of common concern;
  • to share ideas and information regarding current scientifically-based research;
  • to promote opportunities for professional growth for all persons involved in federal education programs; and
  • to inform professional associates, policy-making bodies, and local citizens about legislative needs and actions related to federal education programs.

 


Cheryl P. Bostick, President

During the week of June 1, 2020, I came across a photo of me awarding a plaque to a white police officer in uniform, as the black local sheriff looked on with obvious approval. I was raised with a healthy respect for the law and for a few moments in high school, I thought I wanted to practice law. However, my passion for education was ignited by my 11th grade history teacher, Barbara Leemon (Parish), who also happened to be white. As the president of the local Optimist Club chapter, a portion of my responsibilities included conducting programs that fostered the youth’s respect for law. I held multiple assemblies at the junior high school, where the sheriff and subordinate officers spoke to gymnasiums full of black underprivileged students. The aforementioned photo provoked so many conflicting emotions and my eyes welled with tears because it also happened to be the same week that George Floyd was laid to rest. As a person of color, the past few months have been particularly difficult as many other persons of color are dying from the COVID-19 pandemic at a disproportionate rate and suffering from police brutality and fatalities. As our organization implements the reauthorization of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), whose life span embodies language such as, “No Child Left Behind” and “Every Student Succeeds”, let us revisit the parable of the shepherd who left the 99 sheep in search of the lost one. As we plan to spend funds resulting from the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (CARES), let us be mindful of the widow who was vindicated by an unjust judge. At the very least, consider the Samaritan who stopped to help the victimized traveler. I have no regrets for fostering a respect for law among students and the community. However, there has to be reciprocity for black lives.​













​​

Cheryl P. Bostick, President

Richmond City Public Schools

cbostick@rvaschools.net



Amber Boggs, President-Elect

Wise County Public Schools

aboggs@wisek12.org 



Ernestine Scott, Ph.D., Past President
Richmond City Public Schools
escott3@richmond.k12.va.us 



Valdivia Hall, Secretary
Halifax County Public Schools
vhall@halifax.k12.va.us 






Carl McDaniel, Treasurer

Roanoke City Public Schools

cmcdaniel@rcps.info




REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVES

 



Candy Llewellyn, Ed.D., Region I

Colonial Heights City Public Schools

candy_llewellyn@colonialhts.net



Christina Alsop, Region I

Henrico County Public Schools

cnalsop@henrico.k12.va.us


Vacant, Region II



Angela Isbell, Ed. D., Region II

Chesapeake Public Schools

angela.isbell@cpschools.com




Roxana Bandes McCarthy, Region III

Stafford County Public Schools

mccarthyrb@staffordschools.net



Kimberly Chandler, Region III

Essex County Public Schools

kchandler@essex.k12.va.us


Evonne DeNome, Region IV

Fairfax County Public Schools
ecdenome@fcps.edu


Megan Moore, Region IV

Manassas City Schools

mmoore@manassas.k12.va.us



Jane Wright, Region V

Augusta County Public Schools

jwright@augusta.k12.va.us


Justin Griggs, Region V

Louisa County Public Schools

​​griggjs@lcps.k12.va.us 


Jennifer Dean, Region VI

Salem City Public Schools

jdean@salem.k12.va.us


Emily Altizer, Region VI

Montgomery County Public Schools

emilyaltizer@mcps.org 



Jennifer Hurt, Region VII

Bristol Public Schools

jhurt@bvps.org 


Marcia Shortt, Region VII

Wise Public Schools

mshortt@wisek12.org



Pam Eakes, Region VIII

Halifax County Public Schools

peakes@halifax.k12.va.us



Chip Jones, Region VIII

Cumberland County Public Schools

cjones@cucps.k12.va.us


STATE REPRESENTATIVES



Lynn Sodat, Ph.D.
VDOE, Office of ESEA Programs
 

Lynn.Sodat@doe.virginia.gov


Randall Johnson, Ed.D.

VDOE, Office of ESEA Programs 

Randall.Johnson@doe.virginia.gov