Regional Map

President's Message

Cheryl P. Bostick, President

Richmond City Public Schools

cbostick@rvaschools.net


Amber Boggs, President-Elect

Wise County Public Schools

aboggs@wisek12.org 


Ernestine Scott, Ph.D., Past President
Richmond City Public Schools
escott3@richmond.k12.va.us 


Valdivia Hall, Secretary
Halifax County Public Schools
vhall@halifax.k12.va.us 




Carl McDaniel, Treasurer

Roanoke City Public Schools

cmcdaniel@rcps.info



REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVES

 



Candy Llewellyn, Ed.D., Region I

Colonial Heights City Public Schools

candy_llewellyn@colonialhts.net


Christina Alsop, Region I

Henrico County Public Schools

cnalsop@henrico.k12.va.us


Laura Estes, Ed.D., Region II

Williamsburg-James City County Public School

Laura.Estes@wjccschools.org


Angela Isbell, Ed. D., Region II

Chesapeake Public Schools

angela.isbell@cpschools.com


Roxana Bandes McCarthy, Region III

Stafford County Public Schools

mccarthyrb@staffordschools.net


Vacant, Region III




Evonne DeNome, Region IV

Fairfax County Public Schools
ecdenome@fcps.edu


Megan Moore, Region IV

Manassas City Schools

mmoore@manassas.k12.va.us


Jane Wright, Region V

Augusta County Public Schools

jwright@augusta.k12.va.us


Vacant, Region V



Jennifer Dean, Region VI

Salem City Public Schools

jdean@salem.k12.va.us


Emily Altizer, Region VI

Montgomery County Public Schools

emilyaltizer@mcps.org 


Jennifer Hurt, Region VII

Bristol Public Schools

jhurt@bvps.org 


Marcia Shortt, Region VII

Wise Public Schools

mshortt@wisek12.org


Pam Eakes, Region VIII

Halifax County Public Schools

peakes@halifax.k12.va.us


Chip Jones, Region VIII

Cumberland County Public Schools

cjones@cucps.k12.va.us


STATE REPRESENTATIVES



Lynn Sodat, Ph. D.
VDOE, Office of ESEA Programs
 

Lynn.Sodat@doe.virginia.gov


Randall Johnson, Ed.D.

VDOE, Office of ESEA Programs 

Randall.Johnson@doe.virginia.gov


VIRGINIA ASSOCIATION OF FEDERAL EDUCATION  PROGRAM ADMINISTRATORS

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

The primary goals of VAFEPA are:

  • to support schools and division administrators in the implementation of federal education programs that effectively supplement local and state education programs to close the achievement gap between children who are advantaged and children who are economically disadvantaged, children from major racial/ethic groups, children with disabilities, children classified as limited English proficient, and other subgroups such as migratory and homeless students;

  • to provide opportunities to promote effective teaching and learning;

  • to increase student achievement through cross-program coordination and integration of services and activities; and

  • to assist division administrators in interpreting and implementing student achievement through cross-program coordination, integration of services and activities as related to the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) as amended by the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001.


Cheryl P. Bostick, President


It is a distinguished pleasure to serve a successful organization that champions education for students regardless of pre-existing barriers of socio-economic status, language proficiency, school achievement levels, or access to enrichment opportunities. As an African American female elementary student, whose family suffered from an economic downturn in Richmond during the early 80's, I found myself transitioning from one school to the next every year. Nevertheless, those who served in comparable educational support programs as you currently provide, nurtured my love of school and learning.  As an educator and mother of four children under ten years old, I recognize the value of education programs more than ever.  As a federal education program administrator, with 17 years of experience, I recognize and appreciate the challenging work of dissolving inequities and implementing programs with fidelity. It is my commitment to continue to offer platforms that will keep our organization informed and prepared for the tremendous work of meeting programmatic demands outlined by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). Let’s continue to strive for excellence in accomplishing the goals of our organization. 

WHAT WE BELIEVE

 

The purposes of VAFEPA are:
  • to promote and facilitate communication and collaboration among federal education administrators throughout the state;
  • to provide opportunities for federal education administrators to discuss, propose, and take action on matters of common concern;
  • to share ideas and information regarding current scientifically-based research;
  • to promote opportunities for professional growth for all persons involved in federal education programs; and
  • to inform professional associates, policy-making bodies, and local citizens about legislative needs and actions related to federal education programs.