WHAT WE BELIEVE

 

The purposes of VAFEPA are:
  • to promote and facilitate communication and collaboration among federal education administrators throughout the state;
  • to provide opportunities for federal education administrators to discuss, propose, and take action on matters of common concern;
  • to share ideas and information regarding current scientifically-based research;
  • to promote opportunities for professional growth for all persons involved in federal education programs; and
  • to inform professional associates, policy-making bodies, and local citizens about legislative needs and actions related to federal education programs.

 

VIRGINIA ASSOCIATION OF FEDERAL EDUCATION  PROGRAM ADMINISTRATORS
The primary goals of VAFEPA are:

  • to support schools and division administrators in the implementation of federal education programs that effectively supplement local and state education programs to close the achievement gap between children who are advantaged and children who are economically disadvantaged, children from major racial/ethic groups, children with disabilities, children classified as limited English proficient, and other subgroups such as migratory and homeless students;

  • to provide opportunities to promote effective teaching and learning;

  • to increase student achievement through cross-program coordination and integration of services and activities; and

  • to assist division administrators in interpreting and implementing student achievement through cross-program coordination, integration of services and activities as related to the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) as amended by the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001.

President's Message

Regional Map

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE


Cheryl P. Bostick, President


It is a distinguished pleasure to serve a successful organization that champions education for students regardless of pre-existing barriers of socio-economic status, language proficiency, school achievement levels, or access to enrichment opportunities. As an African American female elementary student, whose family suffered from an economic downturn in Richmond during the early 80's, I found myself transitioning from one school to the next every year. Nevertheless, those who served in comparable educational support programs as you currently provide, nurtured my love of school and learning.  As an educator and mother of four children under ten years old, I recognize the value of education programs more than ever.  As a federal education program administrator, with 17 years of experience, I recognize and appreciate the challenging work of dissolving inequities and implementing programs with fidelity. It is my commitment to continue to offer platforms that will keep our organization informed and prepared for the tremendous work of meeting programmatic demands outlined by the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA). Let’s continue to strive for excellence in accomplishing the goals of our organization. 


Cheryl P. Bostick, President

Richmond City Public Schools

cbostick@rvaschools.net


Malora Horn, President Elect

Roanoke City Public Schools

mhorn@rcps.k12.va.us 

Ernestine Scott, Past President
Richmond City Public Schools
escott3@richmond.k12.va.us 

Valdivia Hall, Secretary
Halifax County Public Schools
vhall@halifax.k12.va.us 


Gail Jones, Past President

Henrico County Public Schools

gsjones1@henrico.k12.va.us 


Carl McDaniel, Treasurer

Roanoke City Public Schools

cmcdaniel@rcps.info


  

REGIONAL REPRESENTATIVES 






Raye Rector, Region I

Goochland County Public Schools

rayerector@glnd.k12.va.us


Randall Johnson, Region I

Richmond City Public Schools

rjohnson9@rvaschools.net 



Carolyn Taylor, Region II

Suffolk Public Schools

carolyntaylor@spsk12.net

Laura Burton, Region II

York County Public Schools

lburton@ycsd.york.va.us


Lori Harper, Region III

Essex County Public Schools

lharper@essex.k12.va.us

Vacant, Region III

 



Kathi Sheffel, Region IV

Fairfax County Public Schools

klsheffel@fcps.edu

Megan Moore, Region IV

Manassas City Schools

mmoore@manassas.k12.va.us



Marymargaret Cardwell, Region V

Amherst County Public Schools

mcardwell@amherst.k12.va.us


Sandra McKenzie, Region V

Nelson County Public Schools

smackenzie@nelson.k12.va.us

Diane Washenberger, Region VI

Salem City Public Schools

dwashenberger@salem.k12.va.us


Vacant, Region VI

Jennifer Hurt, Region VII

Bristol Public Schools

jhurt@bvps.org


Vacant, Region VII

Pam Eakes, Region VIII

Halifax County Public Schools

peakes@halifax.k12.va.us

Chip Jones, Region VIII

Cumberland County Public Schools

cjones@cucps.k12.va.us


Pat Popp, VDOE

pxpopp@wm.edu


Gabie Frazier, VDOE

gabie.frazier@doe.virginia.edu

Wilbert Ware, Retired